Sign in to follow this  
cruw

Ethics

cruw    6

Hey guys, for those who dont know me, my names Cruw. 

I am in my 2nd year of university, one of my credit courses was an ethical reason/analysis class. I would like to ask a question and see how you guys are ethically. Are you a consequentialist? what about a utilitarian? or many others.

The question is as follows.

You and a group of tourists go into a cave, after 9 of you make it in, the last group member is so large, he gets stuck in the entrance to the cave. There is no way out, all you have is a stick of dynamite. Do you kill one to save many? Do you all accept your fate and die of starvation? 

Before you answer this, keep in mind in almost any ethical view including utilitarianism, ( a theory that states if the decision has a greater positive or good effect to the majority, then it is ethical. ) rules out almost any decision if it involves killing, especially a killing of innocent people. 

Is there an ethical way out of this? Is there any ethical stance or theory you can think of that might be valid or realistic? Let me know in the comments below :) thanks for reading guys.